top of page
  • Writer's pictureMeason & Ramsey Law

What to Do If You Get a DUI in Oklahoma

Updated: Feb 2, 2023

The rate of DUIs skyrockets in Oklahoma, especially in summer, owing in large part to festivals, concerts, parties, and the like.

There are many ways to avoid getting a DUI and the number one way is full abstinence or pacing oneself when drinking. Another method is to elect to stay where you are drinking, waiting until you are fully sober to drive. If this is not an option, a taxi, a ridesharing service, or a trusted friend can get you home safely.

Human beings are not perfect, however, and human nature/statistics dictate the error in judgement by driving while intoxicated can and will be made by many.

If you find yourself stopped by police and charged with a DUI, these are things you need to keep in mind:

1. Be respectful and polite to the police officer.

The men and women in the police department are not there to ruin your life, but rather to keep you and others safe. Arguing with a police officer, especially while intoxicated, will not help your case at all. If you argue too much or get physical with the police officer, you can incur more serious charges such as resisting arrest or assault of a police officer. Make sure the officer tells you your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) and makes note of it on his/her report. Under Miranda Rights rules, anything you say to the officer or around the officer can later be used in court.

2. Home or jail

Dependent upon many factors, it is up to the officer whether you go home to “sleep it off” or go to jail for a predetermined time. Do not panic: have a friend pick you up/pick up your vehicle, and go home. Miranda Rights still apply and anything you say while incarcerated will most likely be told to the judge later at your court hearing.

3. Keep all paperwork.

The police officer and/or correction officer will give you several documents with instructions. Keep all this paperwork in a safe place and take note of your court date.

4. Call Meason & Ramsey Law Office in Bartlesville.

The professionals at Meason & Ramsey Law Office are available for a consultation should you find yourself charged with a DUI. While we do not condone DUI, we understand how easily the mistake can occur and are here for our clients.


According to, "in Oklahoma, it’s illegal to drive or operate a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08 or higher (DUI), or if the influence of alcohol renders the driver incapable of safely driving."

A police officer will either achieve this number with a breathalyzer unit or a blood test. A police officer can and should explain this process to you and apprise you of your rights under the law.

· First Offense – Fines up to $1,000 and/or up to 1 year in jail.

· Second Offense – Fines up to $2,500 and/or 1-5 years in jail/prison.

· Third Offense or more – Fines up to $5,000 and/or 1-10 years in prison.

Marty Meason and Rod Ramsey and their team(s) are the best DUI attorneys in Oklahoma for a reason. If you want to incur the least possible punishment for DUI, Meason & Ramsey Law Office in Bartlesville, Oklahoma, is dedicated to defending your case vehemently and passionately. Give us a call or contact us via our website to set up your consultation.


Meason & Ramsey Law provides a professional experience for all our clients, helping them navigate their legal rights. Our focus is criminal law (felony and misdemeanors). We specialize in Criminal Law, Divorce and Family Law, Probate Law. We are currently accepting cases in Washington, Nowata and Osage counties. Meason & Ramsey Law has family lawyers, divorce lawyers, probate lawyers, criminal defense lawyers, DUI & DWI lawyers, co-counsel lawyers, family attorneys, divorce attorneys, probate attorneys, criminal defense attorneys, DUI & DWI attorneys and co-counsel attorneys. Marty Meason and Rodney D. Ramsey, Attorneys

Meason & Ramsey Law

515 Delaware Ave

Bartlesville, OK 74003


26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page